Will you STAND?

I know Thanksgiving is this week and Christmas is so close (I’m totally in Christmas mode, already), but before we get to any expected posts on thanks and what this very special season is about for us, I thought I’d share what was on my mind when  I woke this morning. So, here goes….

Had this great dream that involved running from wolves in the snow, living underground-ish (everything had to be bolted behind us and windows were not our friend), and, before I woke, a wicked, power hungry, evil woman, who came to our bunker/camp/home/whatever and was taking over. People were afraid of her. I was one of the first that spoke to her, and I was walking on egg shells not to set her off. When she had us salute her and then bow to her (while calling us yellow), I did neither. We were all sitting in the floor of a large room. I was sitting near the back. At first I thought that I was the only one not bowing, then I looked around. I wasn’t alone, but it was less than half of our group (which had grown quite big – between 75-100 I’d guess). She went around beating those of us who would not bow, on our backs with something (may have had an electrical charge). I wasn’t too scared in that moment. I was just thinking, “I’m about to know what it feels like to be beaten for my faith. This is happening.” After the first or second beating, one girl, not only did not bow, but stood, waiting for her turn. As soon as I saw her I stood too, we all did. All the believers stood… and with our actions were saying, “You can beat us, but we will bow to no one but our God. The one true KING.”

Sure, there were heart racing moments, but adventure suspense dreams are good dreams in my book. I wake up thinking, “I’d read that,” followed by “I should remember this and write.” So, don’t steal my plot lines – though I’ve left out some details… and it was a dream, anyway, so it probably didn’t make lots of sense to anyone but myself.

Though it was all a great dream, my favorite part was at the end when I did not bow, but stood instead. If this situation were real, what would you do? Would you stand?

I’m reminded of Ephesians 6:10-20 (the description of the Armor of God). Where it starts, we’re told to stand:

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you will be able to STAND firm against the schemes of the devil…13 Therefore, take up the full armor of God, so that you will be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to STAND firm. 14 STAND firm therefore…

In the Battle of Jericho, God’s people were told they’d win the battle. He then told them to march, not fight, march. It may have seemed strange, but they followed his instructions. Here, we’re told to stand, put on this armor of God and STAND.

Would you STAND?

WILL YOU STAND?

Go ahead, leave a reply. You know you want to…

