My Guardian, My shelter… He cares for me.

I planned to post this earlier this morning. Before that, I had planned to post this last night, the day before, the week before, the month before, two months ago. I hesitated because of the injustice I am giving the scripture (if you think about it we always are). All scripture, especially Psalms, screams Jesus. It’s all directing our eyes to Him. All of scripture is pointing to Jesus. I will never be able to do God’s Holy Word justice. But, His love will not allow me to keep silent. As I mentioned before, and will surely mention again, I’m not academically trained. I just want to encourage you to run after Him, forsaking all else. I’m saying this to myself too.

(11-08-2013)

Okay, bear with me for a while…

In this rough sinful world that is not my home, as much as we try to make it, the Lord is my guardian, who feeds, clothes, shelters, and cares for me. He must guard me from myself sometimes. He leaves me needing nothing else. As I sit, truly aware of His presence, I want only more of Him!

He makes me rest, because lets face it, sometimes I don’t, even when I need to do so. Sometimes I do not rest even when my intentions were just that. And, if I were left to my own demise, I would be in so much pain right now! I cannot imagine where I’d be, but instead of giving me what I wanted in my own selfish moments, He’s given me His best for me. I, therefore, rest IN HIS BEST FOR ME! He gives me the peace I need even in the midst of 2 year old tantrums, long tiring drives, and a never ending mess. He is a cool, calm, clean, clear, perfect drink, and He is my bread, my sustenance.

He restores me! Even at my worst, He has restored me. Even at my weakest, He has restored me. Even at the end of my patience, He restored me. I can trust that He will restore me, He has in the past and His word tells me He will now and in the future.

Though I get in the way, He guides me in the right direction for my good and His glory. It is all for His glory! I must remember this always! If I let go and allow You to guide my steps completely, how will my actions be different? I feel Him changing me over the years, moment by moment, guiding me to the point where I will be able to say is “it’s ALL for Him!”

No matter what I walk through, I will fear no evil that comes my way. I will not fear! I know the Lord is with me, and I will NOT FEAR! In the BLEAKEST of moments, I will not fear. I’ve been through some scary bad times, and I’m sure I’ll face more – probably worse, but because I have the consistency that is you, I will lean on you and not fear. I choose to trust in you and not fear.

Why? Because the Lord, my Lord, MY GOD, is with me! He is in my heart, guarding my step, wanting the best for me and excited to welcome me home one day! He is WITH me!

Oh, Lord, You comfort me! I can see You at work in my life protecting, providing, loving me, feeding me. You comfort me with Your care. Even in the face of evil and opposition, You are lavishly caring for me as though I am detrimentally important in Your plans and in Your Heart. Thank You for loving me and choosing me, loving “girl with a curl” me!

By choosing me, calling me, You have loved upon me and anointed me as an heir, as Your daughter. My blessings overflow! At the time being, though it has been a tight season, You have blessed us in earthly ways as well as eternally and spiritually in the here and now.

Your Good Faithful True Word and Your faithfulness in my life for the last twenty-five years, as well as before that – even centuries before, assures me that Your goodness and Your acts of kindness in love will be a part of me, my life, always!

I will dwell in You forever and You in me! You are WITH me.

Yep… It’s offical. It was thousands of years ago too; King David, with God-inspired word, penned this much better:

Psalm 23

English Standard Version (ESV)

The Lord Is My Shepherd

A Psalm of David.

23 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
2 He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.[a]
3 He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness[b]
for his name’s sake.
4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,[c]
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.
5 You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
6 Surely[d] goodness and mercy[e] shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell[f] in the house of the Lord
forever.[g]

Footnotes:

Psalm 23:2 Hebrew beside waters of rest
Psalm 23:3 Or in right paths
Psalm 23:4 Or the valley of deep darkness
Psalm 23:6 Or Only
Psalm 23:6 Or steadfast love
Psalm 23:6 Or shall return to dwell
Psalm 23:6 Hebrew for length of days

English Standard Version (ESV)The Holy Bible, English Standard Version Copyright © 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a division of Good News Publishers.

This Psalm is often used at funerals and I am beginning to understand why. It’s well known scripture, even quoted in rap music. But how often do I stop and take a closer look, dwell in it for a while?

This post, as much as anything, was an exercise, inspired by the end of the David study, taking the 23rd Psalm and writing it from my heart. I thought that sharing it might encourage you to take a closer look at it and your own heart and pray, as I am, that The Lord aligns your heart with His. God’s holy word is living and breathing. What would it say as you’re testifying Psalm 23? How does Psalm 23 speak to you?

Go ahead, leave a reply. You know you want to…

