Upcoming Bible Study

What a post! I haven’t posted in quite a while, and each time I work on this post it doesn’t save correctly. But that won’t stop me…

In less than a week, Thursday morning Bible studies (nine or so offered this semester) for women in the area will gear back up! I am excited and really love this time of worship, study, prayer and fellowship. I can hardly share all the ways God has used this opportunity to grow my maturity in Him (of course the more I grow the less mature I realize I am), build my relationships and open my eyes to opportunities for service. I absolutely encourage you to get involved if there’s something similar available where you are. If there is not, I would like to encourage you to consider teaming up with sisters in your local church family (or even several churches coming together) to make things happen! I am not very knowledgable in that area, but can encourage you and point you to those more “in the know”. You could even check this conference out, if it’s not too late. If you are local to the Huntsville, AL area and available on Thursday mornings, I can send you more information about our Thursday Bible Studies! Just message me in the comments!

One study being offered this go around is Gospel Revolution: Recovering the Power of Christianity by JD Greear. It’s been a pleasure to read this and I look forward to experiencing, discussing, praying, and studying through this with others in the upcoming weeks. Today I want to share with you a little about this book/study. I won’t call it a review, since the group study will not begin until next Thursday morning and it would be nice to include how it works as a group study… however, I have read through it and gone over it and love the way JD Greear addresses our fears and motivations, the heart and the church all in relation to the Gospel, which is the core of Christianity – that is Christianity. JD Greear is sincere in his writing, authentic, humorous, and direct.

Gospel Revolution

Here are a few quotes from chapter one of Gospel: Recovering the Power that Made Christianity Revolutionary by JD Greear:

The gospel is not just the diving board off of which we jump into the pool of Christianity; it is the pool itself… All other Christian virtues flow out of it.

Martin Luther said in his Lectures on Romans that true spiritual progress was “always to begin again.”

The purest waters from the spring of life are found by digging deeper, not wider, into the gospel well.

With so many great studies out there, and so many topics and disciplines to study, I think that it might be a great time to take a step back, and refocus, dive deeper! I know it grabbed me early on, urging me to “begin again” “digging deeper” – after all we will never be through studying it. Some may benefit by digging deeper into the gospel and others may need to really dwell in it for the first time. This study is going to direct us there, to the gospel. It is a video driven study, which is great. But, it’s short enough that we will be able to really connect and discuss at a great level. It is an 8 week session that we are going to stretch, fairly easily, into a 10 week session.

In the fall I facilitated the study by Beth Moore called David: Seeking a Heart like His. The Gospel produces just that. I desire to know God more each day. I want to dwell in Him and spread the message of His love. He is changing my heart and perspectives constantly to match His. He loves me, oh how He loves me! I do really like Greear’s “Gospel Prayer” at the core of the book, calling you to focus on the Gospel and what it means to us, how it affects our thoughts and actions and see our God.

Living in the Huntsville, AL area and would like to participate in this or other studies offered on Thursday mornings? Ask me about it! See you there!

Join the Revolution

(one last quote from Gospel by JD Greear)   The angels have seen God face-to-face, and yet they still can’t get enough of the gospel! Do we think we are really ready to move on to something else?

Go ahead, leave a reply. You know you want to…

