Christmas Music

I have a lot in store for you today… if I am as productive today as I am ambitious.

What is your favorite Christ centered “Christmas Music”? Being in choir as a child, singing in my youth and high school concert choir, and singing in Women’s Chorus in college, I have grown very accustom to breaking out the Christmas music in August, and I love it that way. I don’t do that quite as much now, but I think I am going to bring back that tradition. Silent Night in German – I never thought I’d miss that when the music was passed out in Women’s Chorus, but it’s beautiful. There were some beloved songs we sang in High School as well that I’ll probably never hear again, unless I can find and old VHS.

20131210-092852.jpg

This advent I have been especially focused on the anticipation there was waiting for Christ’s first arrival and our anticipation for His return! We get to rejoice in them both, HOW BLESSED ARE WE? This is a time of reflection and joy, excitement and so much more! A song my brother and I had the honor of singing together as a duet on the front steps of the courthouse our ancestors built in Ashville, AL is “O Come, O Come Emmanuel” and it will ever be dear to my heart for that reason.

20131210-092906.jpg

Image of St. Clair County Courthouse (Ashville, AL) Linoprint by Sandra J Sorrell (Sandra JS Coleman) on parchment with flag in color

But, It means so very much more. There’s great yearning and anticipation in that song (as I type this I’m suddenly reminded of Shane & Shane, and I am now hoping to find that they’ve recorded this song – they have! Check the link above by clicking on the title of the song above the photo. Guess what I just found? TONIGHT Shane & Shane will be live online and for $4.99 you get a Christmas EP and the live stream ticket!)…

REJOICE! REJOICE!
EMMANUEL
SHALL COME TO THEE, O ISRAEL

I am so thankful that He is in the ransomed us… paid our ransom – once and for all – TRIUMPHANTLY!

O come, Thou Day-Spring, come and cheer
Our spirits by Thine advent here
Disperse the gloomy clouds of night
And death’s dark shadows put to flight

So, what are some of your favorite Christmas songs this time of year… any, no limitations? I have so many. Please write them in the comments (you can find it at the top of the post in parentheses – just click there, I believe)!

Go ahead, leave a reply. You know you want to…

