His ways are best!

(11-21-2013) I’ve had lots of crazy dreams lately, but the one I remember from last night was definitely the best of late! I was, with many great women from our church, getting ready for some retreat and/or missions trip. I didn’t really recognize where we were. A few of us were sorting our clothes out that had gotten all mixed up (why they were all mixed up, I don’t know – maybe there was some baggage problem, perhaps someone lost a suitcase and we were pooling items to see how we could clothe our sister during the trip, maybe we ran out of room for all the suitcases and needed to condense them – who knows), and I could feel the anticipation and excitement of the event of the upcoming days – in the dream. It was so exciting to be with all of these great women, serving and growing.

{side thought: God is capable of using dreams. He has in the past. It is shown in the Bible – Joseph, Daniel and others. Do you think He does today, in the US? Have you seen or experienced this first hand? Do you think we miss His dreams sometimes? But He speaks in other ways as well. He’s not restricted. And sometimes dreams are just dreams, nothing more. BTW, I am in no way making some comment about my dream, mentioned above, in this side note. It’s just that, a side thought.}

I love my church home – being able to worship, study, serve, and fellowship alongside so many fantastic women!!! I don’t know if God will have me at Willowbrook for 60 years or only a few. What I do know is that He has blessed me immensely and has taught me so much. I would not have been able to imagine this is where I’d be, how I’d be serving, or what my life would look like 20 years ago, 15 years ago, or even 5-10 years ago. God is so good. That doesn’t mean that it’s not a challenging road. I’m almost endlessly optimistic. That’s just a part of who God made me, so if my posts are too rosy, I want to set you clear now. While I wouldn’t have it any other way, this could be why sometimes God doesn’t show us a larger picture than what we get. If we knew what was between point B and point C, or the difficulties we might go through to learn and grow to what we would become, would we be bold enough to take the path knowing what we’d have to endure? It’s a mercy of sorts. God is there with us through those difficult times. I look forward to what God has in store. His mercies are new each morning and He is forever good(Lam. 3:22-23; Ps. 136:1). His ways are higher than mine and He wants His best for me(Is. 55:8-9; Rom. 8:28). If we knew what He had in store for us, we might skip what necessary steps fall in between. And, I love waiting on The Lord (sometimes I must be reminded that I love it). His ways are best!

I think I needed this reminder (in the format of my dream) of why waiting on The Lord is so great!

I’m reminded of the song “Blessings” by Laura Story.

And all the while, You hear each spoken need
Yet love us way too much to give us lesser things

How are some ways this is true in your life?

Go ahead, leave a reply. You know you want to…

